Illegal Mining: Oyetola inaugurates Osun mineral resources, environmental management committee

By Yusuf Taiye

…says govt committed to setting on the path of effective resource management

The of Osun, Adegboyega Oyetola, on Wednesday inaugurated Osun Mineral Resources and Environmental Management Committee (MIREMCO) as part of the Administration’s efforts towards lifting the state out of economic misery.

This is even as the Governor said his Administration was resolved to set the State on the path of effective resource management.

He maintained that, the appointment and inauguration of the Committee are in line with the Minerals and Mining Act 2007, which empowers the Committee to oversee the regulation of the entire mining operations in the State and to discuss and advise the Minister of Solid Minerals on matters affecting encroachment, trespass, security, social unrest, pollution and environmental degradation of any land on which any mineral is being extracted as it relates to all licence holders within the State.

Speaking during the inauguration ceremony held at the Office of the Governor, Oyetola said the initiative was a clear indication that the Administration was committed to erecting a solid structure for driving resource-blessed economy, delivering resource boom and avoiding resource curse.

The Governor further noted that the Committee was inaugurated as a step towards sanitising the State’s resource climate and resolving the extant challenges being faced on the mining sites and the affected communities.

Oyetola who lamented the excruciating challenge of environmental degradation arising from palpable illegal mining activities in the State, said the decision to set up the Committee was necessary to curb the menace.

He called on the members of the Committee to live up to their responsibilities of redefining the sector for the betterment of the State and the citizenry.

“I implore you as experienced professionals and elders, to employ peace management, conflict resolution and diplomatic skills and competencies to manage the thorny issues arising from mineral exploitation.

“You must sustain the standard set by our Administration during the town hall meetings with miners and community people to maintain peaceful coexistence.

“I hereby call on this Committee to rise to the occasion. The time to rein in the defaulters and ensure this ugly trend is reversed is now. I would also like to take the opportunity to call on the Environmental Agencies such as NESREA to live up to their duties of enforcing environmental standards and compliance in the mining sector.

Earlier in his remarks, the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Governor, Abdulah Binuyo, said the Committee was set up to actualise government’s vision to reposition the mining and environmental sector.

He noted that the Committee would help to improve and enforce compliance, thus setting Osun on the path of standard environment management and sustainability.

Speaking on behalf of other members, the Chairman of the newly inaugurated Committee, Prince Omolade Binuyo thanked Mr. Governor for giving him and his members the opportunity to serve the State in that capacity.

The Chairman, who expressed displeasure at the adverse effect of illegal mining activities with attendant environment degradation in the State, pledged the Committee’s avowed commitment to change the narrative to smooth, productive and harmonious relationship.

He pledge on behalf of the other members, Io uphold Omoluabi ethos and seek support and cooperation of ministries, relevant agencies and departments in the discharge of our duties,” he added.

The nine -member Committee has Prince Omolade Binuyo as Chairman.

Other members of the Committe are the Federal Mining Officer, Mr. Abimbola Oyediran; Representative of State Office of Natural Resources, Mr. Alake Kolawole; Representative of State Ministry of Lands, Mr. Oluseyi Falope; Representative of Federal Ministry of Mines and Steel, Comrade Olatunji; Representative of Ministry of Environment and Sanitation, Alhaji Baderinwa Abideen; Representative of Federal Ministry of Environment, Mr Adebisi Ayodele; Representative of Surveyor General, Surveyor Abioye Ayodele; and Representative of Federal Ministry of Mines, Engr. Isaac Ojo, who will serve as the Secretary of the Committee.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button